Sprechen Sie Rhubarb?

Rhabarberkuchen

I just like saying the name- rhabarberkuchen (with blackberries and toasted almonds).

11 responses to “Sprechen Sie Rhubarb?

  1. Whoa–recipe please!

  2. Okay!
    I slightly winged it, I was looking for a german style rhubarb cake but a lot of the recipes online had weird things like jello (?), so I took just the basic cake part of one, found suggestions regarding draining off excess liquid from another, added almonds because they are so good and look pretty too, and here is what I think I did:

    I cut about 2 scant cups of rhubarb into 1/2 inch pieces and tossed them with 1/3 c sugar so that they would drain off some of their liquid (you’re suppose to wait 45 min. – I don’t think I did that) A little lemon rind is a good thing to toss in as well.

    I creamed 2/3 c sugar with 1/2 stick of butter (I use salted, otherwise add pinch of salt to flour)
    I added 1 t vanilla and 2 eggs (one at a time)

    Then I added 1/4 of flour and 1 t baking powder
    I spread the mixture in a buttered and floured pan, drained the rhubarb and arranged it on top. I also dotted it with blackberries and then sprinkled a handful of sliced almonds on top.

    At 350 degrees it took about 40 min. to bake, but that might depend on the size of your pan.

    When cool I sprinkled powdered sugar on top.
    It’s very tasty, but was a little soggy this morning (the next day). However it is excessively hot and humid here so that might have something to do with it….

  3. Meine Mutter lieben Rhubarb.

  4. Ja naturlich. ich glaube Rhubarb.

  5. All that “ich” business doesn’t sound good–but the recipe does, so I’m going to try it!

  6. Jess:

    Werde mal gucken auf meinem Kochbuch. Vielleicht finde ich da eine schöne Rezepte für dich… muss das unbedingt etwas mit “Rhubarb” sein?
    Also… mal sehen…
    Auf jeden Fall hast du hier ausgezeichnetes Backen… Rhabarberkuchen… Schmackhaft sieht das aus! Und “so schön wie im Bildbuch” hast du das auch gemacht!
    Oh, Mann! Ich muss aus, um mir ein Eis zu kaufen oder so. Du bist ja gemein! So was tut man nicht!

    Hab’ dich sehr gerne, auch auf Deutsch!
    Mit oder ohne “Rhubarb”

    Celeste

Leave a Reply

