Who Can Fight the Wind? (TheTao of Augustus)

 

the wind that bends the bough

“It’s unattractive to be the strongest man in the world.” Augie (age 10)

 This was said in complete literal earnestness by my son as we took an afternoon walk, but it sent my mind into a philosophical eddy.

Pliancy and weakness are expressions of the freshness of being
Stalker – film by Andrei Tarkovsky, 1979

Stalker is a film that I think of often. It is mesmerizing and thought-provoking. The questions – do I really want what I want? What would happen if I got it? and,  how persistent and “strong” should I be in the face of uncertainty, defeat…bad luck? are constantly lurking about the corners of my mind.

Self-sabotage is when we say we want something and then go about making sure it doesn’t happen. – Alyce P. Cornyn-Selby

Perhaps. But I can not quite get behind the if you only want it enough – want it MORE – the universe will provide… That sort of blame-the-victim-mentality wears my nerves short. However,  if things don’t happen as we think we want, as we were sure they would, then what? Isn’t the ability to bow down and accept things as they are, as they always were despite our misguided sureties, isn’t that a true strength? It’s the vigor of a green twig that will not snap. After all, I’ve battled more of those than I have the strong firm branch.

There are different kinds of wisdom one may use for differing ends. – chorus, Oedipus Tyrannos, Sophocles

Then again perhaps we just console ourselves by forming a philosophy to suit our reality so that we can get out of bed each morning despite the disappointment that dispels our dream-state. It’s a lot easier than fighting it.
And a lot more attractive.

6 responses to “Who Can Fight the Wind? (TheTao of Augustus)

  1. The end of this makes me think of sour grapes.

  2. “And will it be my fault if things are so?” – Machiavelli

  3. I think it’s an aging thing too. When you’re young you can fight anything even when there’s no point. But after a while you realise how draining battles can be. There is a real sense of victory – or at least relief – in being able to walk away from a fight.

  4. I see the familiar and ever present dichotomy of life in this.

    With either low self-esteem or a serious goal-oriented outlook, we or someone else pushes us to reach higher in something. On the other hand, our egos get the better of us until we have to face the facts that there are limitations to our ability to excel.

    • Yes but the facing of the facts doesn’t have to be compounded by the accusation of some inner failing because one didn’t “want it” enough or wasn’t positive enough. The things in my life that I have been the most positive about have been my biggest disappointments.

Leave a Reply

