Last Night I Had a Dream My Nightmare Was Over

Last Night I Had a Dream My Nightmare Was Over

Farthest dream- beneath my sleeping weight,
over my oppressed pillow, between my folded limbs.
Respite from my smothered hours.
Gentle Night: you are my one,
embrace me! exalt me!
take me! erase me.

Make room for me
erstwhile friend, sweet Night.

6 responses to “Last Night I Had a Dream My Nightmare Was Over

  1. Sweet dreams, Jessica.

  2. Ah, my dear….my heart is with you….

  3. are you still sleeping on the verandah or somewhere safer and warmer?

  4. Great poem, Jess!
    It’s also great when you’re able to put into written words what you feel, how you feel, even if for so short a time… However, those brief moments of gathering letters, words, phrases, till they make “that” harmonic sense between them and yourself, can be eternity, can show eternity.
    Thank you for your sensitivity that allows you to write so beautifully and with the whole soul of yours and is so much of a pleasure for us, readers. A pleasure and a co-feeling, an empathy, a self-identification.
    Besides, it has this cathartic effect one should never, ever underestimate…

    Love

    C.

Leave a Reply

