Fairy Tale of the Sun or Spring’s Lament

DSCI0052

Untouchable faith in the center of the Sun-
Once upon a time I awoke and found,
in his heat, where my heart had run.
The day after that, a faulty map that he drew
left the moon and the stars unspun.
The final day, the saddest of all,
the Sun did not rise, he said- I’m done.
Well that can’t be, I blithely replied,
perhaps just the day is still young.
Yet, each forsaken hour I wait here alone
in vain expectation of Eos to be sung.
The roses wilt in a pointless dawn
where my incredulous faith is clung.

JA/2013

2 responses to “Fairy Tale of the Sun or Spring’s Lament

  1. Gorgeous heartbreak here.
    I have felt this same way. Just waiting….because it just can’t be. He can’t really be gone. Not after…..not after he promised he wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

