Hard to Win Man’s Heart

Unknown

Write the names out once more and again
making a point to spell them without amend.
Yesterday’s Psychology exam was my bane
today, three more till I come to an end.

Italians, perché tantissimi verbi?
Does it matter that McKinley was called a chocolate eclair?
I just want to know about the center block of Versailles –
what the hell was the last name of that Jules something guy?

Last night my mind was perfectly conformed
Louis Le Vau and the rest, in my head adorned.
Then today it was gone: “interference,” Psych would say,
too much information to retrieve all in one day.

Jules- Jules- I can just see who you are,
but even Vernes’ leagues don’t seem as far!
A last minute look before the test starts,
A way at last! to recall his name and his art-

How could I forget? It’s Hardouin-Mansart.

JA/2013

11 responses to “Hard to Win Man’s Heart

  1. I sure do love your poetry.

  2. Joanna Crowell

    That was fun!

  3. Funny (“man’s heart” and the chcolate eclair called McKinley) ! . Don’t like “formed ” and “formed”. that’s my two cents.

  4. a very interesting post.. made me wonder, think, smile and believe 🙂 am a psych student too and it is a fab journey isn’t it? that is in spite of the troubles the exams give us 🙂

Leave a Reply

