Mind At The Mercy of Multiplicity

Life does not accommodate you, it shatters you. It’s meant to, and it couldn’t do it better. Every seed destroys its container or else there would be no fruition.
– Florida Scott-Maxwell, The Measure of My Days (65)

DSCI0018I was given this most interesting book by a very old woman that I work for. The meditations and musings of Florida Scott-Maxwell: born in 1883, she barely attended school and yet was a prominent figure in the women’s suffrage movement, wrote books and plays and even became, in her forties, an analytical psychologist studying under Carl Jung.  The Measure of My Days, was written when she was in her eighties; the subjects in her mind were aging, death, life, God, love, hate and meaning. Old people, as she put it, “are people to whom something important is about to happen.” (138)

I used to  find it difficult to talk to people newly met. Speech felt precipitate. A silent knowing should come first, sitting, smiling, holding hands, dancing perhaps without words, but talking is too committal for a beginning. (30)

The above quote arrested me, firstly for its succinct charm, summing up how many people, like myself, feel and second for her use of the words “used to.” I hate the difficulty in myself, but gradually I sometimes have a feeling that it is slowly falling away.  I love the confirmation that that could be true. Scott-Maxwell, writing at her ripe age, mostly worried about shocking people with what she considered her most passionate years.

To me the pigeons say, “Too true, dear love, too true” I listened, looked out on the trees beyond both windows and I was free and happy. (123)

I may never hear a pigeon any other way. A deeply religious woman, but also honest and human. She was not above feeling hate, shame, or love.  Above all, the most fascinating quality about this book is that she was a woman, and wrote as a woman, both overtly and instinctively. Which is not to say there are elements of maternal earth-mother or, I-am-woman-hear-me-roar stereotypes, rather it is an unusual absence of the male perspective that we are all trained to think under—a palatable freedom from the male paradigm. She was who she was. She wrote as she thought and didn’t ask, or expect, you to agree. But it is as if the syntax of the male dominated domain of the intellect is slightly off, and it is lovely.

My answers must be my own, years of reading now lost in the abyss I call my mind. (7I)

For good and bad, she acknowledges a kind of radical understanding that the things that delineate us, not just male/female but: income, race, religion, intelligence, and luck- these things  include inequalities, yet describe individuals. We are none of us alike. That is life.  But in every life, by every means of measurement, there is a profound gestalt.  Florida Scott-Maxwell achieves that and more in her beautifully powerful final book.

*title from page 19 – I am awareness at the mercy of multiplicity.

7 responses to “Mind At The Mercy of Multiplicity

  1. What a great find, such a voice- sincere and noble and instead of depending on the kindness of strangers; she is at the mercy of multiplicity. It’s good you find such peers to identify with; you are well on your way to becoming such a one; what is wisdom? but to write what the day is like; what makes it unique to you; what is your take on how the planet’s align and the cardinal’s return.

  2. by far the cardinal when that birds arrives I am enthralled; they are a funny bird whom likes a mirror in my garden every year bounces up and down mesmerized by the return reflection, or so it seems. Nice to read your words this morning, puts me in a reflective mood and much like the cardinal i too am bouncing up down looking at my reflection.

  3. I forget – when I lose my accomplishments to the abyss of my mind – the wholeness which my experiences and actions create whether or not I enumerate them. A defiance of the (capitalistic? masculine? American? human? utilitarian?) mania of measuring value by accomplishment.

    Thank you also for giving me “gestalt” – I’ve heard it, but either never knew what it meant, or else have long since forgotten it.

    • It is something of a mania isn’t? And all the enumerated are so meaningless and small when laid out one by one. But the whole – what was it Empedocles said…that circle with no circumference, the center of which is everywhere…

      Gestalt is a good word.

  4. Gestalt is a good word: also not something that can really be aimed for. Working towards it, putting it as a goal would be self defeating I think. Just something that happens. Wu Wei; The Way. (Heard someone say …)

    • Interesting. I’ve never thought of it as a goal, I kind of think of it as the beauty of life-meets-math, a lovely expression of life itself, we are more than the sum…thank you for your comment, I love the word too.

Leave a Reply

