Mirror

“Passing life’s halfway mark, I lost my way in a dark wood”
– Andrei Tarkovsky, The Mirror (film)

me_looking

One of my jobs is in a library. I always like to shelve the books first. I’m hidden deep in the stacks, focused intensely on tiny sometimes obscured sequences of numbers, letters, dots and slashes.  I work in the arts and music section, the books are all lovely and tempting…but last Tuesday when I came in I could see there was a DVD shelving emergency underway, so I gave the books a longing look, and got right to work on the towers of DVDs. Still, I have preferences. I always start with the foreign films, then documentaries, and only then attack the regular collection. I find the foreign films more interesting, plus there is a stool on wheels that I can skate around on while running through the alphabet in my head over and over again, which makes it more fun.

Sometimes I don’t shelve them. I put them aside, and when I have a minute I go downstairs and check them out. That’s how I came to watch Andrei Tarkovsky’s The Mirror.

The paradoxical thing about a task like shelving books is that it requires deep but meaningless focus. It’s just numbers and letters. But then there is the actual object in my hand, which can trigger thoughts, memories, and feelings. My shift is two and half hours and it feels very like to what watching The Mirror feels like: somewhat stream of conscious, deep in thought, with memories, words and images coming from all directions creating a quiet, sometimes profound emotional rhythm.

There is no story, really. Not in our minds, and not in The Mirror. But the engrossing drama of  (presumably) Tarkovsky’s childhood memories,  twisted up with his mother’s history; the sequences of Tarkovsky’s father’s poetry, read by the narrator (A. Tarkovsky);  the beautiful cinematography: by random turns, black and white, and then color; the dreams and nightmares, anxieties, regret and hope all converge to express, I think, a visual representation of the deep recesses of our minds in which our foundations, if examined, can be all revealing. Just a glimpse, maybe. But a flickering light in between the letters and numbers of our lives.

*photograph taken by Augustus Accardi

 

 

20 responses to “Mirror

  1. LOVE this entry, Jessica. Have you ever seen the film “Russian Ark”? If you haven’t, I suspect you will love it. I did and do. Here’s a trailer: http://youtu.be/J–TDEHizVA

    And such a beautiful photo. Compliments to a budding artist.

  2. “But a flickering light in between the letters and numbers of our lives.”
    wow – this captures your idea, your juxtaposition between your job, your life, the film – i love it!

  3. I used to have to tidy up after people when I worked as a cleaner. I hated it as tidy is such a relative notion. I really liked doing it as I am mostly such an untidy person. At least you know where they are meant to go. I think the Mirror is one of Tarkovsky’s that I missed, but he is brilliant.

  4. i’m staring at your picture of pots de creme — need to get that recipe 🙂

  5. Great post, as always! Sorry… I don’t know neither the book nor the film… 😦

    I’m working at the school library this (shool)year, so our similarities are increasing!!!
    Well… my job has a lot more to do with the kids’s work / researching/ helping them while doing school tasks or while using new technologies but I also deal with that part of “shelving”; registering kids on the “system”; implementing activities to motivate them to reading, etc etc etc. Time to read there I have none as you may probably have guessed. Kids (between 6 and 14) demand too much!
    Long time since we last “met”!!! So’s life sometimes!
    Love!

    C.

  6. Reblogged this on nós and commented:
    Funny… whenever I read Jessica, I find myself over there…

  7. One of my favorite films, though it is difficult at times, is Tarkovsky’s Andrei Rublev. Epic movie about art making. I will look into The Mirror, thanks for your lead as usual.

  8. enjoying your work, Jessica

  9. Good shot by Augustus. He got you candid.

    I’m trying to think of another Russian writer/film maker that you profiled in a previous post.

Leave a Reply

